mac miller's garage

I love any race car whose last name is "Special"

Forums

Forum Home > General Discussion > Road racing special

Dave Phillips

Hi,

Follow up from yesterday's post. First correction - didn't mean to say "Roar Racing", meant "road racing":)

I am a pretty sorry excuse for a computer user... Not sure how to add photos to a post so I started an "album" in the photo gallery as a way to get some pics and hopefully start a discussion. I have never seen a suspension system like this before and want to try to understand what the builder was going for.

As I said, the car was successful and competitative for about 12 years (& we all know how old last year's racecar is...). But aside from hairpins & tube axle, this was run with a rack & pinion ('57 MGA) and according to what I have been reading r&p shouldn't work either - but it did.

I'm no engineer, just a back yard mechanic (was trained as a machinist/welder/fabricator many years ago) and that is why I want to learn by 'others mistakes' rather than make my own.

Dave

November 10, 2011 at 4:22 PM Flag Quote & Reply

mac miller
Site Owner

Hi Dave,

Thanks for posting the pix of your car. I love the 50s/60s American built road racing Spls.

I think the one thing you can do to make a big improvement is to replace the wishbone axle links with a parallel, equal length four link setup to reduce front axle bind. Photo 5 in your album shows your car with a purty big understeer, which is exactly what happens when the front axle binds.

Another question is what kind of differential do you have in your quick change. If you have a locked diff or a spool it will also cuase a big understeer.

Another thing that it looks like you could do, without modification, is to replace the current front spring and shock with a modern coil over unit which would be much lighter and adjustable.